The world must move toward a more sustainable energy future, and the development of technologies that facilitate this for transport, heating, and power systems is crucial. This journal encourages papers on any aspect and scale of technologies for energy generation and/or utilization that decrease the impact of that production and use, from the laboratory to commercial applications.
Papers on technology development/improvement, integration, regulation, standards and policy are within the scope of the journal, as well as case studies.
Technology assessments estimating and discussing metrics such as scale of application, size and weight per unit of energy output, economics, efficiency, and state of technology development are particularly welcomed, for both individual or comparative systems.
The main fields of focus are generation, storage, and conversion; energy efficiency and distribution; and policy and economics. Energy fields include, but are not limited to, carbon capture and storage, wind, bioenergy, solar/PV, hydro, geothermal, and conventional fuels, along with system analysis, environmental issues, energy harvesting, and building design. Papers that incorporate more than one of these topics, either in a unified system or through a comparison of these fields, are encouraged.

Editorial board


  • Ioannis Ieropoulos B.Eng (Hons), M.Sc (BRIS), PhD/Professor
    University of the West of England, Bristol, United Kingdom

Senior Editor

  • Meng Ni
    The Hong Kong Polytechnic University, Hong Kong, China

Associate Editors

  • Rachel Armstrong
    Newcastle University School of Architecture Planning and Landscape, United Kingdom
  • Evangelos Bellos PhD
    National Metsovian Polytechnic, Zografos, Greece
  • Benjamin Erable
    University of Toulouse National Center for Scientific Research (CNRS), Toulouse, France
  • Amanda Smith
    Pacific Northwest National Laboratory, Richland, Washington, United States

Assistant Editor

  • Iwona Gajda
    University of the West of England, Bristol, United Kingdom

Editorial Board

  • Antonio Bula
    University of the North, Barranquilla, Colombia
  • Wilson Chiu
    University of Connecticut, Farmington, Connecticut, United States
  • Afshin Davarpanah PhD
    Aberystwyth University Department of Mathematics, Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
  • Mirella Di Lorenzo
    University of Bath, Bath, United Kingdom
  • Jie Ji
    University of Science and Technology of China, Hefei, China
  • Gon Kim
    Kyung Hee University Department of Architectural Engineering, Yongin, Korea, Republic of
  • Peng Li PhD
    Tianjin University, Tianjin, China
  • Zhenjun MA PhD
    University of Wollongong, Wollongong, New South Wales, Australia
  • Pedro Mago
    Mississippi State University, Mississippi State, Mississippi, United States
    University of Naples - Parthenope, Napoli, Italy
  • Joshua Pearce
    Michigan Technological University Department of Materials Science and Engineering, Houghton, Michigan, United States
  • Andreas Poullikkas
    Cyprus University of Technology Department of Electrical Engineering Computer Engineering and Informatics, Nicosia, Cyprus
  • Ming Qu
    Purdue University, West Lafayette, Indiana, United States
  • Christian Sattler
    German Aerospace Center DLR Institute of Solar Research, Köln, Germany
  • Laura Schaefer
    Rice University, Houston, Texas, United States
  • Luis M. Serra
    University of Zaragoza, Zaragoza, Spain
  • Sam Shelton
    Georgia Institute of Technology, Atlanta, Georgia, United States
  • Yixiang Shi PhD
    Tsinghua University, Department of Energy and Power Engineering, Beijing, China
  • Kazuhiko Suga
    Osaka Prefecture University, Sakai, Japan
  • David Ting PhD
    University of Windsor, Windsor, Ontario, Canada
  • Tord Torisson
    Lund University, Lund, Sweden
  • Subramanyan Vasudevan
    CSIR - Central ElectroChemical Research Institute, Karaikudi, Tamil Nadu, India
  • Evelyn Wang
    Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Cambridge, Massachusetts, United States
  • Lingfeng Wang
    University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee, Milwaukee, Wisconsin, United States
  • Jon Winfield
    University of the West of England, Bristol, United Kingdom
  • Jesús Xaman PhD
    National Center for Research and Technological Development Department of Mechanical Engineering, Cuernavaca, Morelos, Mexico
  • Angelo Zarrella PhD
    University of Padova Department Industrial Engineering, Padova, Italy