Thermal Science and Engineering Progress (TSEP) publishes original, high-quality research articles that span activities ranging from fundamental scientific research and discussion of the more controversial thermodynamic theories, to developments in thermal engineering that are in many instances examples of the way scientists and engineers are addressing the challenges facing a growing population – smart cities and global warming – maximising thermodynamic efficiencies and minimising all heat losses. It is intended that these will be of current relevance and interest to industry, academia and other practitioners.

It is evident that many specialised journals in thermal and, to some extent, in fluid disciplines tend to focus on topics that can be classified as fundamental in nature, or are ‘applied’ and near-market. Thermal Science and Engineering Progress will bridge the gap between these two areas, allowing authors to make an easy choice, should they or a journal editor feel that their papers are ‘out of scope’ when considering other journals.

The range of topics covered by Thermal Science and Engineering Progress addresses the rapid rate of development being made in thermal transfer processes as they affect traditional fields, and important growth in the topical research areas of aerospace, thermal biological and medical systems, electronics and nano-technologies, renewable energy systems, food production (including agriculture), and the need to minimise man-made thermal impacts on climate change.

Review articles on appropriate topics for TSEP are encouraged, although until TSEP is fully established, these will be limited in number. Before submitting such articles, please contact one of the Editors, or a member of the Editorial Advisory Board with an outline of your proposal and your expertise in the area of your review.

Editorial board


  • D. A. Reay
    David Reay and Associates, Whitley Bay, United Kingdom

Executive Editor

  • B. Sturm
    Leibniz Institute for Agricultural Engineering and Bioeconomy, Potsdam, Germany

Associate Editors

  • P. Dutta
    Indian Institute of Science, Bengaluru, India
  • H. Jouhara
    Brunel University London, Uxbridge, United Kingdom
  • A. Nasirahmadi
    University of Kassel Agricultural and Biosystems Engineering, Witzenhausen, Germany
  • D. Onwude
    EMPA Swiss Federal Laboratories for Materials Science and Technology, Duebendorf, Switzerland
  • B.B. Saha
    Kyushu University Interdisciplinary Graduate School of Engineering Sciences, Kasuga, Japan

Editorial Board

  • A. Akisawa
    Tokyo University of Agriculture and Technology Faculty of Engineering Graduate School of Engineering, Tokyo, Japan
  • A. Baïri
    Paris-Nanterre University Thermal and Energetics Engineering Department, Ville d'Avray, France
  • P. K. Bansal
    Satya International Ltd, Greenwood, Mississippi, United States
  • M. Bantle
    SINTEF Energy Research, Trondheim, Norway
  • H. Bao
    Durham University, Durham, United Kingdom
  • N. Bennett
    University of Technology Sydney, Sydney, Australia
  • Vincenzo Bianco
    University of Genoa, Genova, Italy
  • X. Chen
    Loughborough University, Loughborough, United Kingdom
  • X.D. Chen
    Soochow University, Suzhou, China
  • U. Desideri
    University of Pisa, Pisa, Italy
  • Ibrahim Dincer
    University of Ontario Institute of Technology, Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
  • M. El-Genk
    University of New Mexico, Albuquerque, New Mexico, United States
  • Y. Gan
    South China University of Technology School of Electric Power, Guangzhou Shi, Guangdong, China
  • Kamel Hooman
    University of Queensland, Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
  • D. Jing
    Xi'an Jiaotong University, Xi'an, China
  • T. Karayiannis
    Brunel University College of Engineering Design and Physical Sciences, Uxbridge, United Kingdom
  • J.J. Kleme?
    Brno University of Technology, Brno, Czech Republic
  • R. Law
    Newcastle University, Newcastle Upon Tyne, United Kingdom
  • O. Manca
    University of Campania Luigi Vanvitelli Department of Industrial Engineering and Information Technology, Aversa, Italy
  • Y.F. Maydanik
    Institute of Thermal Physics UB RAS, Ekaterinburg, Russian Federation
  • A.A. Minea
    Gheorghe Asachi Technical University of Iasi Faculty of Material Science and Engineering, Ia?i, Romania
  • L. Montorsi
    University of Modena and Reggio Emilia, Modena, Italy
  • S. Srinivasa Murthy
    Indian Institute of Science, Bengaluru, India
  • A. Mustaffar
    Newcastle University, Newcastle Upon Tyne, United Kingdom
  • H.F. Oztop
    Firat University, Elaz??, Turkey
  • B. Palm
    Royal Institute of Technology, Stockholm, Sweden
  • M. Pate
    Texas A&M University College Station, College Station, Texas, United States
  • P.A. Pilavachi
    Panepistemio Dytikes Makedonias, Kozani, Greece
  • G. Ribeiro
    Aeronautics Institute of Technology Department of Aerospace Science and Technology, São José dos Campos, São Paulo, Brazil
  • M.A. Sayegh
    Wroc?aw University of Science and Technology, Wroclaw, Poland
  • G. Tang
    Xi'an Jiaotong University School of Energy and Power Engineering, Xian, China
  • H. Wang
    Queen Mary University of London, London, United Kingdom
  • J. Xu
    North China Electric Power University, Beijing, China
  • Y. Yan
    University of Nottingham, Nottingham, United Kingdom
  • C. Y. Zhao
    Shanghai Jiao Tong University - Fahua Campus, Shanghai, China
  • Y. Lu
    Durham University, Durham Energy Institute, Durham, United Kingdom
  • Y. Wang
    University of California Irvine, Irvine, California, United States